e-cig tax in rhode island

URGENT: STOP THE 80% RHODE ISLAND E-CIGARETTE TAX

Rhode Island Governor Lincoln Chafee has asked the Rhode Island Legislature to pass a budget bill that would impose an enormous 80% wholesale tax on all electronic cigarette devices.  

As a company, we believe that electronic cigarettes are a smarter alternative for smokers to traditional cigarettes.  We oppose measures that would punish adult consumers for making that smarter choice. We hope you would take this opportunity to educate your lawmakers that taxes on smoke-free electronic cigarettes are bad both for consumers and for small business.  

HOW YOU CAN HELP

On Thursday, February 13th at approximately 4:00 PM (or shortly thereafter), the Rhode Island House Finance Committee will hold a critical public hearing on the tax bill in Room 35 of the State House (82 Smith Street in Providence). We are asking our customers to please attend the hearing and speak in opposition to this destructive tax.  If you are on Facebook, you can connect with others who are attending at this Facebook Event page.

As a consumer of electronic cigarettes, you know better than most that these products are NOT tobacco, are NOTHING like combustible cigarettes, and that cost and full access to them are important to you.  YOUR story must be heard by the legislators to make positive change, so make sure your voice is heard!

While hearing from you in person at or before the hearing will have the most impact on legislators, you can still make a difference by telling your story to the members of the House Finance Committee by phone or e-mail. Please consider taking a few minutes of your time to reach out to the members and RESPECTFULLY but firmly let them know that you OPPOSE the proposed new tax on electronic cigarette devices.  Tell your personal story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life or the life of someone you love.  Also, explain to them if you think this tax will discourage smokers from using electronic cigarettes, as well as whether this tax would make you less likely to purchase electronic cigarettes from in-state vendors in the future.

Email list for all members of the House Finance Committee:

rep-carnevale@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-ferri@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-gallison@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-hearn@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-hull@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-jacquard@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-malik@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-melo@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-morgan@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-naughton@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-ruggiero@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-sanbento@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-silva@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-slater@rilin.state.ri.us, rep-valencia@rilin.state.ri.us

House Finance Committee Members

Rep. Helio Melo (D – East Providence) [Chairperson]

(401) 222-8028 / rep-melo@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Eileen S. Naughton (D – Warwick) [Deputy Chairperson]

(401) 738-7928 / rep-naughton@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. John M. Carnevale (D – Providence, Johnston)

(401) 274-1353 / rep-carnevale@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Frank Ferri (D – Warwick)

(401) 737-5113 / rep-ferri@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Raymond E. Gallison Jr. (D – Bristol)

(508) 677-4235 / rep-gallison@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Joy Hearn (D – Barrington)

(401) 247-9867 / rep-hearn@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Raymond A. Hull (D – Providence)

(401) 272-4026 / rep-hull@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Robert B. Jacquard (D – Cranston)

(401) 943-7799 / rep-jacquard@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Jan Malik (D – Warren)

(401) 247-1271 / rep-malik@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Patricia L. Morgan (R – West Warwick)

(401) 222-2259 / rep-morgan@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Deborah Ruggiero (D – Jamestown)

(401) 423-0444 / rep-ruggiero@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. William San Bento Jr. (D – Pawtucket)

(401) 727-0276 / rep-sanbento@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Agostinho F. Silva (D – Central Falls)

(401) 728-5473 / rep-silva@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Scott Slater (D – Providence)

(401) 741-7641 /rep-slater@rilin.state.ri.us

 

Rep. Larry Valencia (D – Richmond, Exeter, Glocester)

(401) 539-3420 / rep-valencia@rilin.state.ri.us