Washington Vape Bills


The Washington State Senate that would impose an unwarranted 95% wholesale tax on all electronic cigarette products containing nicotine.

Members of the Washington Senate Ways & Means Committee need to hear true life stories about vaping from Washington residents.  As a consumer of electronic cigarettes, you know better than most that these products are NOT tobacco, are NOTHING like combustible cigarettes, and that cost and full access to them are important to you.  YOUR story must be heard by the legislators to make positive change, so make sure your voice is heard!

Please consider taking a few minutes to reach out to the members of the Washington State Senate Ways & Means Committee by phone or e-mail. Please RESPECTFULLY but firmly tell the members:

  • Please vote NO on any bill that would tax electronic cigarettes or limit consumer access by prohibiting Internet sales.

  • Electronic cigarettes are tobacco-free, smoke-free, and often nicotine-free, and should not be treated the same as other tobacco products.

  • Tell your personal story on how switching to an e-cigarette has changed your life or the life of someone you love.  

  • This tax will discourage smokers from switching to electronic cigarettes and decimate small businesses in Washington that have grown and occupied empty storefronts during the economic recession.  

  • Let them know where in Washington you live.

Remember: An effective letter or phone call is short and to the point. Legislators receive many emails and phone calls each day. The most important thing is to respectfully communicate your opposition to e-cigarette taxes and overbearing sales regulations. Please help save the State of Washington!

After you contact the members of the Senate Ways & Means Committee, be sure to also call or your e-mail your Washington State Senator and Representative.  Find out who represents you here (select ‘Legislative’).

Copy and Paste Email List for the Senate Ways & Means Committee:

andy.hill@leg.wa.gov, michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov, jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov, jim.hargrove@leg.wa.gov, karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov, kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov, barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov, randi.becker@leg.wa.gov, andy.billig@leg.wa.gov, steve.conway@leg.wa.gov, bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov, karen.fraser@leg.wa.gov, david.frockt@leg.wa.gov, bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov, brian.hatfield@leg.wa.gov, mike.hewitt@leg.wa.gov, jeanne.kohl-welles@leg.wa.gov, mike.padden@leg.wa.gov, linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov, ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov, mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov, rodney.tom@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Andy Hill, Chair (R) (45th District - Redmond area)

(360) 786-7672 / andy.hill@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Michael Baumgartner, Vice Chair (R) (6th District - Spokane area)

(360) 786-7610, michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Jim Honeyford (R) (15th District -- Sunnyside area)

(360) 786-7684 / jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov


Sen. James Hargrove (D) (24th District -- Hoquiam area)

(360) 786-7646 / jim.hargrove@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Karen Keiser (D) (33rd District - Des Moines area)

(360) 786-7664, karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Kevin Ranker (D) (40th District - Orcas Island area)

(360) 786-7678 kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Barbara Bailey (R)  (10th District - Oak Harbor area)

(360) 786-7618, barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Randi Becker (R) (2nd District - Eatonville area)

(360) 786-7602, randi.becker@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Andy Billig (D) (3rd District - Spokane area)

(360) 786-7604, andy.billig@leg.wa.gov


Sen. John Braun (R)  (20th District - Centralia area)

(360) 786-7638, Capitol Webmail: https://app.leg.wa.gov/pbc/memberEmail/20/0


Sen. Steve Conway (D) (29th District - Tacoma area)

(360) 786-7656, steve.conway@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Bruce Dammeier (R) (25th District - Puyallup)

(360) 786-7648, Bruce.Dammeier@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Karen Fraser (D) (22nd District - Olympia area)

(360) 786-7642, karen.fraser@leg.wa.gov


Sen. David Frockt (D) (46th District - Seattle area)

(360) 786-7690, David.Frockt@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Bob Hasegawa (D) (11th District - Seattle area)

(360) 786-7616, bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Jeanne Kohl-Welles (D) (36th District - Seattle)

(360) 786-7670, jeanne.kohl-welles@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Brian Hatfield (D) (19th District - Raymond area)

(360) 786-7636, brian.hatfield@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Mike Hewitt (R) (16th District - Walla Walla area)

(360) 786-7630, mike.hewitt@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Mike Padden (R) (4th District - Spokane area)

(360) 786-7606, mike.padden@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Linda Evans Parlette (R) (12th District - Wenatchee area)

(360) 786-7622 / linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Ann Rivers (R) (18th District - La Center area)

(360) 786-7634 / Ann.Rivers@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Mark Schoesler, Republican Leader (R) (9th District - Ritzville area)

(360) 786-7620 / mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov


Sen. Rodney Tom (D) (48th District - Medina)

(360) 786-7694 / rodney.tom@leg.wa.gov

For late breaking news on this legislation, please refer to this Action Alert, which will be updated. You can also follow the situation on the newly-created Washington Vapers Advocacy Network Facebook page. Thank you for your time and consideration.