It is currently Sun May 03, 2015 10:55 am

CHICAGO E-CIGARETTE USAGE BAN- PASSED

A place to find and post alerts about events that need the communities help.

CHICAGO E-CIGARETTE USAGE BAN- PASSED

Postby Artist Boy » Mon Dec 09, 2013 1:37 pm

URGENT CALL TO ACTION! CHICAGO E-CIGARETTE

USAGE BAN --

(Hearing in Committee Possible Monday, December 9th!)




It has been reported that an ordinance regulating e-cigarettes in the City of Chicago likely will be introduced in a joint committee on MONDAY, December 9th, 2013.

We are still trying to confirm details, but it appears that the City of Chicago is deliberately failing to provide advance notice in an effort to eliminate opposition to the ordinance.

UPDATE: It appears that the e-cigarette usage ban and other measures will be introduced and have a public hearing on Monday, December 9th at 11:30 AM at City Hall (121 N LaSalle St in Chicago) before the Joint Committee on Health & Environmental Justice & Finance.

We have been told that supporters hope to rush this through the full Council on Wednesday, so immediate action is required. We urge all vapers to attend and testify!

We have not been able to confirm details, but our understanding is it likely that the proposed legislation will:

· Require E-cigarettes be sold behind the counter

· Ban sales to minors

· Prohibit distribution of product samples

· Subject e-cigarettes to the Clean Indoor Air Act (can’t smoke indoors)

· Prohibit sales in any building within 100 ft of a school/day care/or for the education or recreation of children under 18


Read more here
Image
Image
"Relinquite omnem turbatio, vos qui intratis"
User avatar
Artist Boy
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 10266
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: San Angelo TX

Re: CHICAGO E-CIGARETTE USAGE BAN

Postby BMBteke397 » Tue Dec 10, 2013 11:48 am

Update on this.

The City Council did not ban e-cigs on Monday, and instead went ahead with the lesser of two proposed ordinances. Several Chicago Alderman are vapers and defended peoples right to vape. The lesser ordinance that did pass is that menthol and flavored tobacco products must be sold more than 500ft from any schools (up from 100ft). Both this and the e-cig ban were proposed with the idea of cutting down teen smoking.

Big thank you to everyone from the Chicago vaping community who was able to attend the council meeting.

You can read the follow up article from the Sun Times at the link below.
http://www.suntimes.com/24278866-761/su ... e-ban.html

-Mike
Image
BMBteke397
Schaumburg, IL Manager
 
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 7:37 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Re: CHICAGO E-CIGARETTE USAGE BAN

Postby Artist Boy » Mon Jan 13, 2014 1:39 pm

The Chicago Joint Committee passed a bill to add e-cigs to their city smoking ban by a vote of 14-5. The full vote will be on Wednesday with only 26 votes needed to pass.

VAPORS IN CHICAGO NEED YOUR HELP! Call, tweet, email and do everything you can to get the word out. Let them know that you do not support this bill. Tell them your personal story as to how e-cigs have affected your life.

Chairman - George Cardenas (Ward 12) – ward12@cityofchicago.org (773) 523-8250
Vice Chair - Roberto Maldonado (Ward 26) – (773) 395-0143
Vice Chair - Patrick O’Connor (Ward 40) – pjoconnor@cityofchicago.org (773) 769-1140

Carrie Austin (Ward 34) – caustin@cityofchicago.org (773) 928-6961
James Balcer (Ward 11) – jbalcer@cityofchicago.org (773) 254-6677
Anthony Beale (Ward 9) – ward09@cityofchichago.org (773) 785-1100
Howard Brookins, Jr. (Ward 21) – ward21@cityofchicago.org (773) 881-9300
Edward Burke (Ward 15) – eburke@cityofchicago.org (773) 471-1414
Walter Burnett, Jr. (Ward 27) – wburnett@cityofchicago.org (312) 432-1995
William Burns (Ward 4) – ward04@cityofchichago.org (773) 536-8103
James Cappleman (Ward 46) – info@james46.org (773) 878-4646
Willie Cochran (Ward 20) – Willie.Cochran@cityofchicago.org (773) 955-5610
Rey Colon (Ward 35) – ward35@cityofchicago.org (773) 365-3535
Pat Dowell (Ward 3) – Pat.Dowell@cityofchicago.org (773) 373-9273
Jason Ervin (Ward 28) – Jason.ervin@cityofchicago.org (773) 533-0900
Bob Fioretti (Ward 2) – Robert.Fioretti@cityofchicago.org (312) 263-9273
Toni Foulkes (Ward 15) – Toni.Foulkes@cityofchicago.org (773) 863-0220
Deborah Graham (Ward 29) – (773) 261-4646
Leslie Hairston (Ward 4) – lhairston@cityofchicago.org (773) 324-5555
Michelle Harris (Ward 8) – mharris@cityofchicago.org (773) 874-3300
Natashia Holmes (Ward 7) – Ward07@cityofchicago.org (773) 731-7777
Lona Lane (Ward 18) – ward18@cityofchicago.org (773) 471-1991
Margaret Luarino (Ward 39) – mlaurino@cityofchicago.org (773) 736-5594
Roberto Maldonado (Ward 26) – (773) 395-0143
Deborah Mell (Ward 33) – deb@33rdward.org (773) 478-8040
Emma Mitts (Ward 37) – emits@cityofchicago.org (773) 745-2894
Joseph Moore (Ward 49) – ward49@cityofchicago.org (773) 338-5796
Joe Moreno (Ward 1) – ward01@cityofchicago.org (773) 278-0101
Ricardo Munoz (Ward 22) – Ward22@cityofchicago.org (773) 762-1771
Harry Osterman (Ward 48) – harry@48thward.org (773) 784-5277
John Pope (Ward 10) – jpope@cityofchicago.org (773) 721-1999
Marty Quinn (Ward 13) – (773) 581-8000
Ariel Reboyras (Ward 30) – ward30@cityofchicago.org (773) 794-3095
Brendan Reilly (Ward 42) – office@ward42chicago.com (312) 642-4242
Daniel Solis (Ward 25) – info@dannysolis.org (773) 523-4100
Ray Suarez (Ward 31) – rsuarez@cityofchichago.org (773) 486-6488
Latasha Thomas (Ward 17) – lrthomas@cityofchicago.org (773) 723-0908
Joann Thompson (Ward 16) – JoAnn.Thompson@cityofchicago.org (773) 434-3399
Thomas Tunney (Ward 44) – ttunney@cityofchicago.org (773) 525-6034
Scott Waguespack (Ward 32) – info@ward32.org (773) 248-1330
Michael Zalewski (Ward 23) – mzalewski@cityofchicago.org (773) 582-4444
Image
Image
"Relinquite omnem turbatio, vos qui intratis"
User avatar
Artist Boy
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 10266
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: San Angelo TX

Re: CHICAGO E-CIGARETTE USAGE BAN- PASSED

Postby Artist Boy » Wed Jan 15, 2014 4:57 pm

This bill has passed. Ecigs users re now being pushed outside with the smokers. Ecigs are now grouped in to the clean air act, meaning ecigs are banned any where normal cigs are banned in Chicago.

Read more here: http://abclocal.go.com/wls/story?sectio ... id=9394743
Image
Image
"Relinquite omnem turbatio, vos qui intratis"
User avatar
Artist Boy
Forum Admin
 
Posts: 10266
Joined: Thu Mar 04, 2010 5:00 pm
Location: San Angelo TX


Return to Call to Actions

cron

Who is online

In total there are 0 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 0 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
Most users ever online was 168 on Wed Nov 07, 2012 10:07 pm

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests